Harris Teeter Recognized for Sustainability Efforts

Company Receives Three Awards from EPA GreenChill

Matthews, N.C. – Harris Teeter was recognized by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA’s) GreenChill Partnership with three awards for reducing harmful refrigerant emissions – the Most Improved Emissions Rate, Best Emissions Rate and Superior Goal Achievement. Harris Teeter earned the most GreenChill recognitions of any company this year, signaling itself as a leader in sustainable refrigerant management practices in the supermarket industry.

The Best Emissions Rate is awarded to the partner with the lowest refrigerant emissions rate. The Most Improved Emissions Rate award recognizes the GreenChill partner with the most improved corporate-wide emissions in 2017 compared to the previous year. The Superior Goal Achievement award is presented to each partner who meets the company’s annual refrigerant emissions reduction goal.

“Harris Teeter should be incredibly proud of earning the award for Best Emissions Rate,” said Tom Land, manager of EPA’s GreenChill program. “The company is being recognized for reducing corporate-wide refrigerant emissions more than other GreenChill partners in 2017 compared to 2016, and customers should note that Harris Teeter is cutting costs associated with refrigeration and protecting the environment.”

Harris Teeter is committed to providing its customers with World Class Service alongside helping Mother Earth breathe easier. In 2017, Harris Teeter recycled over 98 million pounds of paper and plastic products combined; and more recently, announced it will phase out single-use plastic bags by 2025. The Company’s sustainability efforts and its GreenChill Partnership are additional ways for Harris Teeter to showcase its commitment to the communities it serves.

About Harris Teeter

Harris Teeter, with headquarters in Matthews, N.C., is a wholly-owned subsidiary of The Kroger Co. (NYSE: KR). The regional grocery chain employs approximately 30,000 associates and operates stores in North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, Georgia, Maryland, Delaware, Florida and the District of Columbia.